In 1995, as part of the Oslo Peace Process, the West Bank was divided into Areas A, B, and C, fragmenting the West Bank and limiting Palestinian sovereignty. Today, those borders remain.
In Area A, the Palestinian Authority (PA) has maximum, though still not full, civilian and security control; in Area B, the PA has civilian control, but security is maintained by the Government of Israel. In Area C, over 60 percent of the territory of the West Bank and the only contiguous area, Israel maintains full civilian and security control.